10 things to know about Yoga

10 things to know about Yoga


1 According to ancient Indian texts, yoga is a philosophy that was developed there ten thousand years from tantric Hindu civilization.

2 The word “Yoga” translates as “union”, is derived from the Sanskrit word “yuj” which means the union of individual consciousness to universal consciousness.

3 The purpose of yoga is to create harmony between the physical body and mind to reach equilibrium.

4 The Hatha yoga is one of the main branches of yoga that has emerged around the sixth century BC.

5 Hatha yoga: “Ha” means “sun, right nostril,” “Tha” means “moon, left nostril.” Hatha yoga is the union of the sun and moon, inspiration and expiration. The techniques of Hatha Yoga are intended joining forces of the sun and moon in the body.

6 Sage Patanjali was the first person who codified yoga in 196 aphorisms in 4 “pada” books: the yoga sutras.

7 There appointed Raja Yoga or Astanga yoga, which includes eight sections: five external and three internal:

  • 1. Yama: the restrictions
  • 2. Niyama: observances
  • 3. Asana: postures
  • 4. Pranayama: control of respiration
  • 5. Pratyahara: sense control
  • 6. Dharana: concentration
  • 7. Dhyana: meditation
  • 8. Samadhi: the highest nibeau of consciousness

8 Yama and Niyama

1. Yama:

  • Ahimsa: nonviolence
  • Satya: truth
  • Asteya: do not steal
  • Brahmacharya: celibacy
  • Aparigraha: non covetousness

2. Niyama:

  • Saucha: hygiene
  • Santosha: contentment
  • Tapas: austerity
  • Svadhyaya: study
  • Iswara pranidhana: devotion

9 The Hatha yoga includes six Practices:

  • 1. Shatkarma: cleaning techniques
  • 2. Asanas: postures
  • 3. Pranayama: control of the breath
  • 4. Bandha: contraction
  • 5. Mudra: the postures of the hands
  • 6. Dhyana: meditation

10 The universal mantra “Om”
In Hindu philosophy the syllable “Om” is sacred, that sound is the power of the universe and peace.
The sound structure of ‘Om’ includes all sounds, all words and all thoughts.
This sound vibrates the body and muscles, it provides an overall relaxing, he regulates the breath and vital energy circulates, the “prana”.
We can decompose this mantra three letters represent the three levels of consciousness:

  • A: 25% of the song, meaning wakefulness
  • U: 25% of the song, meaning the dream state
  • M: 50% of the song, signife state of deep sleep, the state of bliss

The mantra “Om Shanti” is sung to call for peace in the world – the world, peace against the accidents of life and the third for the peace of his own mind.

Note: the photo of this article is that of the Sage Patanjali statue at Andhra University, Departememt of Yoga and Consciousness, Visakhapatnam, India

Leave a Reply